White Stork Synagogue Wroclaw
Updated: May 16, 2020
The synagogue built in 1829 by the Jewish community of Breslau, that was part of the Prussian Kingdom. The building has three floors: the main hall is serving today as a gathering place for special events, while the two other floors serve as a museum of the History of Jewish life in Wroclaw.
While most of the Synagogues of Germany were burned and destroyed in 1938 during the horrible pogrom known as the Krystal Night, the White Stork Synagogue survived due to the fact he was close to other buildings, and the rioters were afraid the fire would spread to other buildings. So they just destroyed the inner parts of the Synagogue. The Jewish community restored the Synagogue and used it until 1943 when the Nazis turned the building into a warehouse for property confiscated from the Jews, that deported to extermination camps. The Synagogue yard served as the deportation square for Breslau Jews.
After the WWII the city became a Polish city due to border's change. The synagogue was in use by the new Jewish community, until 1968, when the majority of Polish Jews left the country following an anti-Semitic incitement campaign of the Polish government. For more than twenty years the building was in use of academic institutions. Afterwards, the building returned to the Jewish, which renovated and opened it to the public in 2010.
Admission is free.